May 25, 2018

Athletics Banquet Recognizes Outstanding Lanai Athletes

Lanai students who dedicate their time to athletic pursuits learn lessons in discipline, commitment and sportsmanship. Every year, the LHES Athletics Department recognizes athletes for the skills and ability they contribute to their team on and off the field or court.

On May 17, coaches and athletes gathered for the annual Athletics Banquet to honor their outstanding teammates. Awards were handed out in the following categories:

Most Outstanding Athlete

Jake Ballesteros (cross country, wrestling) and Emma deBrum (cross country, wrestling, softball) received the award for most outstanding male and female athletes. The head coaches nominated Ballesteros and deBrum for their athletic ability and leadership skills, and for exemplifying the values of LHES: Tenacious, Observant, Respectful, Compassionate and Honorable.

Most Inspirational Athlete

Jake Ballesteros (cross country, wrestling) and Keona Conroy-Humphrey (cross country, tennis) were nominated by their peers to receive the honor of most inspirational athlete. They were selected for their ability to lead by positive examples, inspire others to work hard and put forth their best effort, and for being a positive role model and team player.

Sportsmanship Awards

Sam Dunwell (wrestling) and Millena Calilao (tennis) were recognized for their sportsmanship. The athletics department chose them because they play fair, try their best, include everyone on the team, and display respect for their teammates as well as their opponents.


Kent Miyose (tennis) and Keona Conroy-Humphrey (cross country, tennis) received the scholar athlete award, an honor bestowed to the male and female senior athletes who possess the highest cumulative GPA in their class.

Coaches Awards

The coveted coaches awards are chosen by the coaching staff of each LHES sport. The coaches for each team select the athlete who contributed the most to the team during the season, taking into account sportsmanship, dedication and character. The coaches awards went to:

  • Boys Volleyball: Jesse Raqueno
  • Girls Volleyball: Junishea Cantero
  • Boys Cross Country: Desmond Ige
  • Girls Cross Country: Micah Manuel
  • 8-man Football: JJ Dulay
  • Boys Wrestling: Sam Dunwell
  • Girls Wrestling: Emma deBrum
  • Girls Softball: Leah Vidad
  • Baseball: Devin Vidad
  • Boys Canoe Paddling: Brysen Seghorn
  • Girls Canoe Paddling: Serah Mock-Chew
  • Boys Basketball: JJ Dulay, Arjen Uminga, Naighel Calderon
  • Girls Basketball: Leah Vidad, Tabitha Medeiros
  • Boys Tennis: Kent Miyose
  • Girls Tennis: Keona Conroy-Humphrey

Congratulations to all our athletes for playing their best this year, and a special aloha to the seniors who will be graduating soon!

Stay Connected with the Community

Lanai Remains Vigilant Against COVID-19

Family wish lists return for this season’s Kahiau Project

Swooping in to Help: Pulama Lanai Rescues Injured Pueo

E Ike Hou ia Lanai’s First Hybrid Program a Success

Where Are They Going – LHES Class of 2021